Home Schooling Pro’s & Con’s

I know I’m not very organized and time and I are not friends. When push comes to shove I know I can do it, but when I talked to some friends and looked online about Connections Academy I found my saving grace. Everything is planned out online. You have contacts, teachers, calendars, and live lessons online. I’m still apart of a school system so I’m protected and my child gets a diploma. Also, its on track with the school system so if she wants to go back to school she won’t be behind. Plus, I found out that transferring back and forth is easy if things don’t work out.

Don’t get me wrong. I weighed the pro’s and con’s. Here’s my pros list:

1. You know what your child is being taught.
2. The school has a lesson plan in place.
3. We make our own hours and have the option of home schooling 4 days per week.
4. She can learn more about a subject, go on field trips, volunteer.
5. She can learn at her own pace.
6. No more zombiefication! Seriously. My 5th grade son finally came back from it and gave me a real hug a few days ago.

Here’s my con’s list:

1. Possibly my sanity.
2. My time.
3. It will cost me more because I want to do more with her.
4. My freedom.

So I’m sitting here with my cup of coffee that I have had to microwave 4 times so far thinking of the con’s list.

My sanity. Well, school has been driving me nuts with the constant testing, rules, and teacher changes. This is just going to be another version of me losing my sanity.

My Time. Well, I’m going to have to work around that. There are homeschool groups and classes all around here. I can plan my personal time around that. Also, good and bad, my husband works from home a lot. He can monitor when she has to do her work on the computer and I can escape for a bit. Heck, I will take any perk I can get out of that one.

The cost. The school is constantly asking for money. I’ve dished out a few hundred per kid every year on yearbooks, supplies, spirit wear, events, etc. This will cost me more but it’s my choice and I can use the memberships and materials to teach my oldest too. I’m not worried about this con.

My freedom. This one is linked to my time and my sanity. We shall see. The way I’m looking at it right now…. we can have school on the beach. We aren’t limited. Maybe I’m gaining more freedom than I’m losing.

Leave a Reply

